1. Responsible for integrating the vulnerable, the disadvantaged and the marginalized into mainstream development.
  2. Facilitate community-based rehabilitation of persons with disabilities through the implementation of the 3% Common Fund allocated for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs).
  3. Assist and facilitate provision of community care services including:
  • Implementation of the Livelihood Empowerment Against Poverty (LEAP) Programme,
  • Registration of persons with disabilities,
  • Hospital welfare services,
  • Assistance to the aged, and
  • Socio-economic and emotional stability in families.
  1. Assist to maintain specialized residential services in the districts.
  2. Facilitate the registration and supervision of non-governmental organizations and their activities in the district.
  3. Promote and Protect the Rights of the Child, child survival and development, and elimination of child labour.
  4. Assist to organize community development programmes to improve and enrich rural life through:
  • Literacy and adult education.
  • Voluntary contribution and communal labour for the provision of facilities and services such as water, schools, library, community centres and public places of convenience.
  • Teaching deprived or rural women in home management and child care.
  • Home science extension.